South Canterbury and Wanganui contest Meads Cup final

Getty Images

Saturday, October 17, 2015    Lynn McConnell    Getty Images

South Canterbury beat Wairarapa Bush 25-21 in Timaru on Saturday while Wanganui caused an upset with a 26-11 win over the champions from the last two seasons, Mid Canterbury in Ashburton.

Wanganui won the Lochore Cup last year.

North Otago ensured all the Heartland action would be centred on the Hanan Shield region when travelling to Levin and dishing out a 57-12 hiding of Horowhenua Kapiti.

They will meet King Country who overcame Buller 20-6 in Westport on Saturday.

Heartland results:

Meads Cup:

Mid Canterbury 11 (Jon Dampney try; Andrew Letham 2 pen) Wanganui 26 (Samu Kubunavanua, Simon Dibben tries; Trinity Spooner-Neera 2 con, 4 pen). HT: 3-12

South Canterbury 25 (Kieran Coll, Don Lolo, Frank Havea tries; Jared Trevathan 2 con; Jason Merrett 2 pen) Wairarapa Bush 21 (Tim Priest, Paul Tikomainavalu tries; Priest con, 3 pen). HT: 7-18

Lochore Cup:

Horowhenua Kapiti 12 (Haamea Ahio, David McErlean tries; Brandyn Laursen con) North Otago 57 (Oscar Pamment 2, Sala Halaleva 3, Lemi Masoe, Aleki Morris, Maene Mapusaga, Cameron tries; Ben Palmer 6 con). HT: 5-33

Buller 6 (Hagen Schulte pen, Andrew Stephens pen) King Country 20 (Anthony Wise, James Hemara tries; Hemara pen; Zayn Tipping 2 con, pen). HT: 0-10